Join us in welcoming our new Executive Chair, AmyJo Foreman!

 Foreman EALS Chair Ancmt2AmyJo Foreman is an MA candidate in the Arts Management program at American University. She has proudly served on the EALS committee since September 2014. Most recently, she completed an internship in the Office of Advancement at the Smithsonian Institution and she’s looking forward to an internship this summer in Individual Giving at NPR. Prior to moving to DC, she worked at the Alley Theatre in her hometown, Houston, TX (aka – “Clutch City”). In addition to her studies, she co-directs AU’s very own improv team, Mission Improv-able.


We asked AmyJo a few questions about EALS  as she gears up for her new role as Chair.

What does EALS mean to you?
For me, the Emerging Arts Leaders Symposium is about cultivating excellence. It’s the opportunity for my peers to engage in conversations that guide their future success. Attendees today are leaders tomorrow.

What do you hope for EALS next year?
My hope in this next year is that we’re able to have an even greater reach. Our last symposium had speakers & attendees come from Pennsylvania, Texas, Minnesota, Florida, Georgia, Utah, and more. As an organization that programs conversations relevant to our entire nation, I look forward to seeing more of the nation represented.

Can you share a fun fact about yourself?
A lot of people might not know that I’m a competitive synchronized swimmer. I started when I was 8 and I haven’t really stopped. When I was in junior high, I got to swim in the background of an AT&T commercial that featured Mary Lou Retton.

