After dazzling you with her knowledge of where to eat and drink in DC, Helene is back to guide you through the world of social media. She is here to tell you who to retweet, whose instagrams need no filter, and where to get expert ideas with this step by step guide.

Step 1: Take out your phone and get ready to start clicking “follow”!

Step 2: Follow EALS on Facebook, Twitter, and WordPress. You should also check out our Storify from the day of the Symposium.

Step 3: Open Instagram and start exploring.

-2I’m a museum girl so I follow A LOT of museums on Instagram. I especially love the architectural shots at the Museum of Islamic Art in Qatar, and with the time difference, they’re a great way to start my day. I strongly encourage you to follow your favorite local arts organizations and your dream destinations. For me, my homes are Indianapolis, Chicago and DC so I’m following the Indianapolis Museum of Art, The Children’s Museum of Indianapolis, Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, The Phillips Collection and the National Gallery of Art. For my travel spots, it is the Louvre, the Getty, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, and the Barnes Foundation.-3

I’ve also learned that following some of the tourism offices for cities helps you learn more about arts happening around town than just following individual organization accounts. I am loving what the Detroit tourism’s instagram are doing with great photos of a rebuilding city. The Archives for American Art are on a mission to subtly teach you about archiving while giving you a behind the scenes peak of archives. Art critic Jerry Saltz provides images of his daily life, comedic thoughts on works of art, and his travels.

Step 4: Head on over to Twitter and get ready to follow more than Mindy Kaling and BJ Novak.

I will be the first to admit that Twitter scared me. I still do not understand half of it. I do, however, love the brief exploration into people’s inner thoughts it provides. First thing you should do is follow some of the speakers and the organizations from EALS like Jane Chu, Nick Gray, Sunny Widmann, Laura Zabel, Emerging Arts Leaders DC, Daryn Cambridge, and Alex Sarian. Jeff Poulin from Americans for the Arts was an active live tweeter at EALS.

nick

The overarching arts organizations like American Alliance of Museums or Association of Performing Arts Presenters are regularly sharing news and research on their industries. Philip Kennicott is the art and architecture critic at the Washington Post exploring more than what is happening here in DC. You’ve Cott Mail and Howard Sherman are other experts all aspiring great arts managers need to follow. You should also look into the arts agencies both federal like the National Endowment for the Arts and in your area like the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities.

Just because we are artists, it does not mean our interests lie solely there. If marketing is your focus, you could follow American Marketing Association. If you just want to be a savvy employee or employer, how about Fast Company?

Almost all of these people also have Facebook accounts if that is more your speed.

Step 5: Get an RSS reader like Feedly and get ready to learn from the experts

I am the worst at remember to go back to a website or getting around to that link I opened. I use Feedly to subscribe to my favorite blogs and news sites to capture all their posts. I regularly have a window of tabs of articles to get back to someday. Rather than slowing down my computer, I use an RSS reader to clear out the stuff I read and am done with or to save the ones I want to go back to as new. Some blogs and news sites you can follow are Hyperallergic, Artnet, and Arts Journal. I also suggest adding a few blogs that fit your interest like Museums 2.0 for me.

Step 6: Share what you learn, who from and more.
While I’m no social media pro, these few tips help me stay abreast on what’s going on in the art world.  I’d love to hear from you what great people or organizations I should follow online. Share some in the comments below!

