AmyJo here! This week we’re looking back to cuter faces, cooler clothes, and our creative beginnings. If you’ve ever found yourself wondering what your EALS Committee was saying, eating, and/or doing all those years ago – this is the blog for you! Happy Flashback Friday, y’all!

Erin Quinlan

erin

 I was a very independent little nugget so I was constantly letting everyone know, “I do it myself.”  I also liked to get away with things so (in my high pitched Kentucky drawl) I often explained, “I’m just doin’ thiiiiissss” when I knew I was about to get in trouble.

I was also very picky about weird things.  I wore my socks inside out because I didn’t like the seam touching my toes and I really didn’t like my hands to be dirty.  I’d like to say these traits wore off but let’s be real – I still prefer my socks inside out.

Colleen Holroyd

colleen

 Q: What were you doing ten years ago?

A: I was 13 and had been taking private violin lessons for 8 years by that point along with teaching myself fiddle tunes and techniques. My interest in classical violin was waning; however, I continued to be very interested in developing my chops as a fiddler. I missed a lot of lessons that fall because the school musical conflicted with lessons. Dragging my feet to start lessons again, my mom gave me the option to quit lessons as long as I continued to meaningfully practice on my own at least 5 days a week. The following summer, I spent a week with my longtime fiddle teacher, Donna Hébert, where we worked on building my repertoire of both tunes and ornamentation and fine-tuning my technique. By the end of the week, I had jumped from an intermediate player to an advanced fiddler.

Tori Sharbaugh

tori

The weirdest thing I ate as a child was ketchup and eggs. When I was little, ketchup and eggs were all the rage. Now every time I think of it, I want to gag. It got even weirder when some ketchup company brought out the colored ketchup… green ketchup and eggs were my jam. I didn’t go as far as my brother though with combining the green ketchup and red ketchup.

 Referencing her #flashbackfriday photo: I like to think it was me pretending I had magical powers.

Helene Genetos

helene

 Q: What were you doing 10 years ago?

A: I was in my senior year of high school. I thought I had my life figured out. I was going to go to a big city school, learn Arabic, study abroad, then move abroad to work with a nonprofit in the Middle East on women’s rights. Suddenly one class threw me off my plan. It was AP Art History and the images, the emotions, the opportunities to see the world and other cultures and my teacher made me want a different path, but I wouldn’t realize it for another year what that feeling was in my stomach when I made a spontaneous decision to add art history as my 2nd major before I even took a college class. It was 10 years ago that I first showed signs of becoming an arts manager.

Sarah Robinson

 sarah

I was a classical music tapeworm with these old cassette tapes with fireworks on them that I’d buy because of the fireworks. I’d listen to them and fall in love with the pieces. There are still times a classical piece comes on and it must have been on one of the tapes because I hum along with it yet have no tangible way of knowing it. With all of that, the arts couldn’t help, but influence me from the beginning.

Jenni Amis

jenni(Picture disclaimer: This is my 4-year-old Easter picture. I hated my dress and hat, but my mom thought I was adorable. So she made me pose for a picture, and this was the best smile I could muster.)

 Q: How did the arts influence you at a young age?

A: I’d say the arts influenced me by opening my imagination to the endless possibilities of creativity and truly filled my childhood with wonder and happiness.

Q: What’s the weirdest thing you ate as a child?

A: Probably grass. I wanted to know what it tasted like. I think I probably ate fertilizer and weed killer with it. It definitely didn’t taste how I thought it would.

 Laura London

larah

I was involved in music at a very young age. I took baby/parent music classes as a toddler, violin when I was 4, piano when I was 5, and settled on cello when I was almost 7. I’ve been playing cello ever since and am looking forward to continue on in the arts in new and exciting capacities.

 Q: What advice would you give a younger version of yourself?

A: Follow your dreams, but realize that your dreams may change. And that’s totally ok. It’s all part of the process.

Zenia Simpson 

zenia 

Q: 
What’s the weirdest thing you ate as a child?

A: I ate terribly as a child. My two favorite meals were chocolate-chip cookies and cheese and cheese-toast (not grilled cheese. I would broil the cheese on top of the bread. Amazing).

 Q: What advice would you give a younger version of yourself?

A: I would say, “Remember to laugh, because life is beautiful and never stop wishing on stars because literally all of your dreams have come true.”


AmyJo Foreman

amyjo

 I was always naming stuff “fluffy.” I gave that name to baby dolls, horses on the side of the road, the family goldfish, etc.

 Q: What advice would you give a younger version of yourself?

A: I’d tell myself that intelligence is not something you just wait for; it is something you must work for.

